Skip to content

  • Print

Faculty Compensation Task Force Work Underway

Office of the ProvostMar 7, 2016

In December, President Eibeck charged a Faculty Compensation Task Force to begin work on what will be a three-semester process to develop a faculty compensation philosophy and implementation plan as recommended in Pacific's Academic Plan. The Task Force is to develop a compensation philosophy that is tied to excellence in teaching and scholarship/creative endeavors, is competitive with our peers, is anchored in market information that is reliable and valid, and has a timeframe for implementation based on the agreed-upon framework.

The initial meeting of the Task Force on January 16 was a full day kickoff retreat, facilitated by Pacific's faculty compensation consultant Frank Casagrande, who has worked with a number of institutions, including some of our peers, to develop their compensation philosophies and implementation plans. The Task Force met again on March 4 to continue building their knowledge base. Three more meetings are scheduled this semester. The work of the Task Force this semester includes developing a survey to seek broad input from the faculty on compensation matters.    

The Task Force will use the survey results to inform its initial draft recommendations and will seek feedback from Shared Governance committees (including Faculty Compensation, Academic Council, and Institutional Priorities), Council of Deans and the Cabinet during fall 2016 and present their final draft recommendations to the Council of Deans, Institutional Priorities Committee and Academic Council in spring 2017. Final recommendations will be presented to President Eibeck in March 2017. The philosophy and implementation plan are anticipated to be presented to the Board of Regents at its May 2017 meeting.   

The Task Force includes the following members:

Maria Pallavicini, Provost
Kevin Huber, Regent
Janet Spears, Regent
Raquel Aldana, Professor of Law and Associate Dean for Faculty Scholarship, McGeorge School of Law
Todd Davenport, Associate Professor of Physical Therapy, Thomas J. Long School of Pharmacy and Health Sciences
Anthony Dutoi, Assistant Professor of Chemistry, College of the Pacific
Cynthia Eakin, Associate Dean for Academic Programs and Associate Professor of Accounting, Eberhardt School of Business
Ron Ellison, Associate Vice President for Business and Finance
Rena Fraden, Dean, College of the Pacific
Des Gallagher, Assistant Professor of Dental Practice, Arthur A. Dugoni School of Dentistry
Berit Gundersen, Vice Provost for Faculty Affairs
Osvaldo Jimenez, Assistant Professor of Computer Science, School of Engineering and Computer Science
Sacha Joseph-Matthews, Associate Professor of Marketing, Eberhardt School of Business
Rahim Khoie, Professor of Electrical Engineering, School of Engineering and Computer Science; Chair, Academic Council
Sharmila King, Associate Professor of Economics, College of the Pacific; Chair-Elect, Academic Council
Courtney Lehmann, Professor of English, College of the Pacific; Past-Chair, Academic Council
Justin Low, Assistant Professor of Educational and School Psychology, Benerd School of Education
Bill Lundergan, Professor and Department Chair of Periodontics, Chair, Arthur A. Dugoni School of Dentistry
Jay Mootz, Dean, McGeorge School of Law
Mary-Beth Moylan, Professor of Lawyering Skills, McGeorge School of Law 
Ken Mullen, Vice President for Business and Finance
Mike Rogers, Director of Institutional Research
Jennifer Ross, Associate Professor and Department Chair of Electrical and Computer Engineering, School of Engineering and Computer Science
Linda Skrla, Professor and Department Chair of Educational Administration and Leadership, Benerd School of Education
Eric Typpo, Associate Professor, Eberhardt School of Business
Greg Walters, Assistant Vice President for Human Resources
Joseph Woelfel, Associate Professor of Pharmacy Practice, Thomas J. Long School of Pharmacy and Health Sciences

Tags for this article:

Join University of the Pacific on: Facebook Twitter Instagram LinkedIn Youtube