Skip to content
  • Print

Scholarships Requiring University Nomination

Boren Award for International Study

Carnegie Junior Fellows

Jack Kent Cooke Dissertation Fellowship

J. William Fulbright Fellowship

Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship

Jacob K. Javits Fellowship

Marshall Scholarship

George W. Mitchell Scholarship

Rhodes Scholarship

Harry S. Truman Scholarship

Boren Award for International Studies-Boren scholarships for undergraduate students and Boren Fellowships for graduate students provide unique funding opportunity for US students to add an important international and language component to their education. The program focus is on geographic areas, languages and fields of study that are critical to US national security interests in countries outside of Western Europe, Canada, Australia or New Zealand.

Carnegie Junior Fellows-Each year the Carnegie Endowment for International Peace offers approximately ten one-year fellowships to uniquely qualified graduating seniors and individuals who have graduated during the past academic year. Recipients receive a salary and full benefits package. They are selected from a pool of nominees from nearly 400 participating colleges and universities. Carnegie Junior Fellows work as research assistants to the endowment's senior associates. Those who have begun graduate studies are not eligible for consideration.

Jack Kent Cooke Dissertation Fellowship-The Jack Kent Cooke Dissertation Fellowship Award supports advanced doctoral students who are completing dissertations that further the understanding of the educational pathways and experiences of high-achieving, low-income students. Dissertation fellowships are intended to support the doctoral student for work done after the student's dissertation proposal has been successfully defended. Applications are encouraged from a variety of disciplines such as but not limited to education, sociology, economics, psychology, statistics and psychometrics.

J. William Fulbright Fellowship-The Fulbright US Student Program is the largest US exchange program offering opportunities for students and young professionals to undertake international graduate study, advanced research, university teaching and primary & secondary teaching worldwide. The program currently awards approximately 1900 grants annually in all fields of study and operates in more than 140 countries worldwide. Fulbright scholars are chosen for their academic excellence and leadership potential and given the opportunity to observe intercultural exchange of political, economic & cultural ideas while embarking on a joint venture to improve the general welfare of the world's in habitants. Eligible candidates have successfully completed a 4-year degree.

Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship-Established in 1986 to honor Senator Barry M. Goldwater, the foundation awards scholarships to students who will be college juniors or senior during the upcoming academic year. Students interested in careers in mathematics, natural sciences or engineering are invited to apply and must be nominated by the University.

Jacob K. Javits Fellowship-The program provides fellowships to students of superior academic ability selected on the basis of demonstrated achievement, financial need and exceptional promise to undertake the study at the doctoral and Master of Fine Arts level in selected fields of arts, humanities and social sciences. The Department awards fellowships in selected fields in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. Eligible applicants must be planning to enter graduate school the following year, or be in their first year of graduate study. In addition, they must be eligible to receive a federal grant, loan, or work assistance. Awards are made for one year, and are renewable up to four years. The approximate value of the scholarship is $27,000 per year.

Marshall Scholarship-Founded in 1953 by an Act of Parliament and named in honor of US Secretary of State George C. Marshall, the scholarship commemorates the humane ideals of the Marshall Plan and express the continuing gratitude of the British people to their American counterparts. Marshall Scholarships finance young Americans of high ability to study for a graduate degree in any field of study in the United Kingdom. Eligible candidates must have obtained a GPA of not less than 3.7 on their completed undergraduate degree.

 George W. Mitchell Scholarship-Named to honor former US Senator George Mitchell's pivotal contribution to the Northern Ireland peace process, the Mitchell Scholarship Program is a nationally competitive award designed to introduce and connect generations of future American leaders to the island of Ireland, while recognizing and fostering intellectual achievement, leadership and a community to community & public service. Up to twelve Mitchell Scholars are chosen annually for one year of postgraduate study in any discipline offered by an institution of higher learning in Ireland or Northern Ireland.

Rhodes Scholarship-The Rhodes Scholarships are the oldest and most celebrated international fellowship awards in the world. Each year 32 young Americans are selected as Rhodes Scholars based upon their scholarly achievements, character, commitment to others & to the common good and for their potential for leadership in whatever career they pursue. Named in honor of Cecil J. Rhodes, the scholarships provide full funding for the pursuit of graduate studies at Oxford University in the United Kingdom.

Harry S. Truman Scholarship-Created in 1975, The scholarship serves as a living memorial to the 33rd President of the United States, Harry S. Truman and provides financial support for the graduate education of outstanding young people committed to public service. Exceptional candidates must be at least junior-level standing but NOT have received a bachelor's degree and/or be attending graduate school.