Skip to content
  • Print

May 14, 2009

Academic Council

May 14th, 2009
Library Community Room
3:00 - 5:00pm

Business: C. Eakin (p), E. Typpo (p)
Conservatory: D. Ebbers (p), P. Langham (p)
College: M. Bates, (p), L. Fox (p), S. Giraldez (p), M. Hatch (a), J. Lessard (p), P. Meyer (p), Cynthia Ostberg (a), E. Thomas (a), C. Vierra (p), K. Whittington (a), X. Zhou (p)
Dental: D. Horlak (p), B. Lundergan (p), J. Miles (a)
Education: D. Brennan (p), R. Oprandy (p)
Emeriti: R. di Franco (p)
Engineering: H. Estrada (p), C. Lee (p)
Law: W. Jones (p), E. Telfeyan (p), K. Yelpaala (p)
Library: C. Hsieh (p)
PHS: T. Little (a), L. Norton (a), C. Peterson (p), K. Salamon (p), M. Susca (p)
SIS: S. Sample (a)
ASUOP: K. Nichols (a)
Ex-Officio: P. Gilbertson (p), B. Gundersen (a), H. Trexler (p)
Observer:  D. McNiel (p)
Guests: President DeRosa, Peggy Rosson, Christine Wilson, Cecilia Rodriguez

1. Call to Order: 3:06pm

2. Approval of Minutes: Minutes of April 9th, 2009
C. Peterson moved, X. Zhou seconded approved with one correction; Jeff Miles being present.

3. Chair's Report
Chair Yelpaala thanked Council for a productive year; it is appreciated that Council is willing to take on the larger issues of governance; as they affect the direction of the university and the interest of the faculty. The Taskforce will need to produce a report and there may need to be changes in the handbook. Chair Yelpaala will also prepare a report for the incoming President on faculty issues; the report will be based upon the Taskforce report, the survey conducted and a new third survey that will concern faculty interests and challenges to help the President understand the issues of faculty. Volunteers will be need to construct the survey and will be distributed in the fall.

On behalf of Council, Chair Yelpaala thanked President DeRosa and the Regents for their leadership over the last years and the recommendation of a university wide 3% increase in salary.

From the Taskforce report, 91% of the faculty have the view of some misalignment between the incentives for service as compared to other incentives for teaching; also 66% of the faculty are interested in faculty governance.

The Chair recognized the following faculty for their service to Council; Marlin Bates, Cynthia Heish, Bill Lundergan, Robert Oprandy, Tamara Little, Keith Whittington, Xiaoling Zhou, Warren Jones and Lydia Fox.

The Executive Board created a resolution in honor of President DeRosa for his successful leadership of the University.

4. Remarks by President DeRosa
President DeRosa gave a few remarks to Council, including the leadership of Provost Gilbertson and the continued faculty interest in the universities success.

5. Provost's Report
Commenting on President DeRosa's remark, the Provost recognized Roland di Franco's work with Academic Council on creating the faculty handbook.

An enrollment update, the projected numbers for the freshmen class are lower than reported at the April meeting. A detailed summary was distributed to show areas of enrollment, SAT scores are higher the acceptance percent rate is at 40%. A summer melt is expected of 9%. Transfer student are at 210, and more retuning students this year.

Incoming President Eibeck has selected a transition team; the faculty representative is Brian Klunk.

6. Consideration of Emeriti nominations
The Provost submitted Emeriti nominations for retiring professors, to be endorsed by Council.
Endorsed unanimously.

7. Election of Executive Board and University Committees
Ballots were distributed for voting; the results are as follow:
Executive Board: Marlin Bates, College of the Pacific, Communications; Hector Estrada, School of Engineering & Computer Science; and Craig Vierra, College of the Pacific, Biological Sciences

University Committees:
Academic Facilities Improvement Committee
James Eason, Engineering
Cathie McClellan, Theatre Arts

Community Involvement Program (CIP) Advisory Board
Alison Alkon, Sociology
Simalee Smith-Stubblefield, Pharmacy & Health Sciences

Commencement Speakers Committee
Marlin Bates, Communications
Cathie McClellan, Theatre Arts 
Eleanor Wittrup, Philosophy

Institutional Priorities Committee
Nejat Duzgunes, Dental
Gene Pearson, Earth & Environmental Sciences

Student Media Board
Simalee Smith-Stubblefield, Pharmacy & Health Sciences
Balint Sztaray, Chemistry

University Awards Committee
Camilla Saviz, Engineering

Student Academic Grievance and Student Faculty Advocate
Sandra Bellamy, Pharmacy & Health Sciences
Larry Langley, Mathematics
Liang Xue, Chemistry

8. What's on your mind?
An open discussion of new issues was initiated; faculty handbook changes in regards to structure were suggested as well as a clarification of the communication of Promotion and Tenure and the Faculty Grievance process.

9. Revisions to Academic Honesty Code
Peggy Rosson presented a revised honor code, which is printed in the Tiger Lore Student Handbook. The current honor code, with revision approved in 2004 is similar to other Universities honor code. The suggested revisions take language from the original code in the 1950's, it clarifies the judicial process through the judicial affair is not the same as what happens to a student in the classroom with regards to the academic dishonesty.
C. Peterson moved, L. Fox seconded, unanimously approved with minor character changes.

10. 2010/2011 Stockton Academic Calendar
Academic Affairs committee member, Christine Wilson presented a final look at the 2010/11 Stockton Academic Calendar for Council's endorsement. The new calendar includes 15 weeks of instructional time, with one week of finals; it maintains the Wednesday holiday before Thanksgiving, it allows a Pacific Day in the spring semester, and also allows for three summer sessions, which may give the opportunity for financial aid in the third summer session. Registrar Cecilia Rodriguez shared with Council the minor corrections to the calendar guidelines.
C. Peterson moved, R. Oprandy seconded, 20 approved, 2 abstentions; with minor revisions to the guidelines.

11. Faculty Background Screening
The Provost thanked Chair Yelpaala for all of his time revising the background policy, it is understood that the fundamental concern of faculty to the policy is the impact on the hire process, whether or not you would lose strong candidates. The Provost will investigate the practice of other universities towards background screening and report the findings in the fall.

12. Network Attached System Security Policy
Chair Yelpaala reminded Council of the need for a better network security policy; the policy must protect the university, protect the network itself, and protects the confidentiality of it's users. It should contain no unreasonable or unauthorized scanning. The suggested revisions to the policy will be sent to ISPC for review and compare to other university policies, Council will have an opportunity to approve and the added language and content

Adjournment: 4:57 pm

Pending approval at September 10th meeting.