Skip to content
  • Print

Fine and Performing Arts Fellowships

Fred Rogers Memorial Scholarship

The scholarship, in the amount of $10,000, will be awarded annually to a qualified applicant. Candidates must have studied early childhood education, child development/child psychology, film/television production, music, animation, or some combination of at least two of these fields. In addition to the cash stipend, the recipient will receive mentoring support from members of the Academy's Children's Programming Peer Group, who will work with the recipient during the course of the academic year.

Kate Neal Kinley Memorial Fellowship
Annual fellowship for advanced study of Fine Arts in the U.S. or abroad, to enhance professional standing or to finance a special project. Preference for candidates under 25 years. There are three fellowships of $7,500 each in art, architecture or music; an additional music fellowship for $15,000; and up to three alternate awards of up to $1,000 each.

NPR Kroc
The NPR Kroc Fellowship was established to identify and develop a new generation of extraordinary journalists for the public radio system. NPR is looking for a diverse pool of applicants who aspire to work in public radio. Candidates must be just completing college or graduate school, or be out of school for one year or less as of December 31. They do not need journalism or radio experience, but must demonstrate exceptional potential and drive. Three Kroc Fellows will be accepted into the program this year. The Fellowship begins in August, and lasts one year. It includes a stipend of more than $37,000, plus benefits, which include paid vacation. Fellows will get rigorous, hands-on training in every aspect of public radio journalism - writing, reporting, producing and editing, for both radio and the Web. Kroc Fellows will work primarily at NPR headquarters in Washington D.C., though each Fellowship will include an assignment to an NPR member station.

Norton Writer's Prize
The Norton Writer's Prize will be awarded annually for an outstanding essay done for a writing class. Literacy narratives, literary and other textual analyses, reports, profiles, evaluations, arguments, memoirs, proposals, mixed-genre pieces, and more: any excellent writing done for an undergraduate writing class will be considered.
The winner will receive a cash award of $1,500. Two runners-up will each receive a cash award of $1,000.

Worldstudio AIGA Scholarships
Undergraduate or graduate students pursuing degrees in the fine or commercial arts, design or architecture.
Deadline: March.

Elie Wiesel Prize
The Foundation designed this contest to challenge college juniors and seniors to analyze urgent ethical issues in today's society. Juniors and seniors are invited to, in a 3,000 to 4,000 word essay, analyze the ethical questions and concerns facing them through an exploration of four suggested topics. First prize: $5,000; second prize, $2,500; third prize, $1,500. Information on each year's contest is posted on the website in June.