Skip to content
return to Office of the President

  • Print

Senseless acts of hatred

May 31, 2020

To the University of the Pacific Community,

The outrage that has erupted this weekend over the killings of George Floyd, Breonna Taylor and Ahmaud Arbery has ignited the intolerance for hatred that we painfully feel and that must be heard. Senseless acts of violence against the African American community are counter to what our university values and believes. Change must come. It has been more than 50 years since Martin Luther King, Jr. protested and died in the struggle for social justice, for the appreciation of the uniqueness of every individual’s worth and dignity. We cannot settle for anything less.

Our collective voice can powerfully advocate for justice and fairness that leads to transformative change. Our resolve for justice must and will grow stronger as we come together in building a community of peaceful practices. 

Our work as students, educators and leaders is more important than ever. By fostering mutual respect, engaging in difficult dialogue and caring for one another in these uncertain times we can be a powerful force that makes the world a better place.

I encourage all of us to join our Equity Team (representing Intercultural Student Success, the Community Involvement Program and the SUCCESS-TRiO Program) in a virtual vigil for peace this Friday, June 5 at 3 p.m. Details will be sent later this week.

Maria Pallavicini, Interim President
Chris Callahan, President Designate
Michael Hunter Schwartz, Interim Provost and Dean, McGeorge School of Law
Ken Mullen, Vice President for Business and Finance
Carrie Lovelace Petr, Vice President for Student Life
Art Sprecher, Vice President for Technology
Burnie Atterbury, Vice President for Development and Alumni Relations
Roberta Kaskel, Vice President for Enrollment Management
Marge Grey, Associate Vice President for Marketing Communications and External Relations
Jeff Shafer, Incoming Chair, Academic Council
Alyssa Wray, Incoming Chair, Staff Advisory Council
Randi Holguin, President, ASuop
Mary Pietanza, President, Alumni Association